Loading...
Tuesday

BlackBerry makes BBM privacy features free to all users and across platforms


Security is what we do, privacy is what you get says BlackBerry's CEO John Chen.

BlackBerry's latest BBM update keeps to that commitment by allowing users on Android, iOS, and BlackBerry devices unlimited access to Retract and Timer – previously only available as part of a BBM subscription.*

These enhanced privacy and control features give users full ownership over what they share through BBM – even after it leaves their phone. With “Retract,” users can retract messages and pictures from recipients they sent mistakenly or no longer wish to make accessible. “Timer,” meanwhile, gives users control over how long their contacts can view shared messages, pictures, or location information.

Other features in this BBM release include:

Cross-Platform (Android, iOS and BlackBerry 10)
  1. In addition to Retract and Timer, users also have access to the Private Chat and Edit features. The former removes names and avatars from the chat window, while the latter allows you to edit messages you’ve sent to a contact
  2. Forward messages from one chat to another
  3. General performance improvements and bug fixes
Android
  1. Mute notifications for multi-person chats
  2. Scroll through all pictures shared within a 1:1 or multi-person chat
  3. Android 6.0 (Marshmallow) support
  4. Improved BBM Voice call quality
  5. Option for users to save pictures taken during BBM chat to device
iOS
  1. Enhanced look and feel for the chat screen
  2. Capture and share larger videos with enhanced video sharing
  3. Multi-select mode: delete, retract, or forward multiple messages at once
  4. Improved BBM Voice call quality
  5. Option for users to save pictures taken during BBM chat to device
BlackBerry 10
  1. Delete messages from just your view of the chat
  2. Retract and edit messages in group chats
  3. Option to retract all messages in a chat when it ends
*Note that if you are currently a BBM subscriber, your subscription may not end automatically when you update. If it was purchased on a different platform from the one you are currently using, cancel it through the following process:
  • On iOS: Simply don’t renew your subscription, and it will cancel automatically.
  • On Android: Access the Google Play Store, tap on the menu button in the top left, access My Account, go to Subscriptions, and cancel.
  • BlackBerry 10: Access BlackBerry World, go to my world, access Subscriptions, and cancel.
Info source: blackberry.com

0 comments :

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

 
Toggle Footer
TOP