Tanzania, Burundi not part of deal for single tariff on phone calls

In a statement released last week, Communication Ministers John Nasasira of Uganda, Jean Philibert Nsengimana of Rwanda, Dr Fred Matiang’i of Kenya and Juma Stephan Lugga of South Sudan said the regional framework for the One NetworkArea would apply to telephone calls originating and terminating within the region.

The statement further mandates member states to exempt regional calls from surcharges applied by local operators on international incoming calls as well as additional charges on subscribers on account of roaming within the region.
“There will be no charges for receiving calls while roaming within the region and subscribers travelling within the member states will be charged as local subscribers in the visited country,” 
the statement says.

This will require telecom operators within the region to re-negotiate bilateral agreements to ensure full implementation of the OneNetwork Area by September 1 for Uganda, Kenya and Rwanda and December 31 for South Sudan, the ministers said. --- Click here for more