Uganda joins Kenya, Rwanda in waiving work permit fees for EAC citizens

Uganda has joined Rwanda and Kenya in waiving work permit fees for East African Community citizens seeking employment in the country, thereby encouraging the free movement of labour in the bloc.

Uganda told the Sectoral Council of Ministers responsible for EAC Affairs and Planning on Wednesday that it had also waived the residence permit fees for EAC citizens on a reciprocal basis.

Burundi also indicated that it would waive the work permit fee for EAC citizens, leaving Tanzania as the only partner that is yet to announce such plans.

In a previous interview with The EastAfrican, Tanzania’s EAC Affairs Deputy Minister Abdulla Juma said:
“The decision to harmonise the work permits can only be made by the EAC Council of Ministers and that is ongoing. We are a sovereign state and, therefore, not in a rush,”
“It’s not about reciprocating since there is no EAC rule on reciprocation. Some states are overwhelmed with degree holders and are looking for a window to address the matter. Some are after foreign direct investment.”
Source: The East African