Kenyan Gov shuts borders to travelers from Sierra Leone, Guinea, Liberia

The Kenyan government has taken the step of closing its borders to travelers from West African countries affected by the growing Ebola outbreak.

The suspension applies to Kenyan ports of entry for people traveling from Sierra Leone, Guinea and Liberia, the country's health ministry says. It goes into effect from Tuesday midnight.

After the announcement, national carrier Kenyan Airways said it was halting flights to Liberia and Sierra Leone.

"The airline said flights actually help to contain the Ebola outbreak by transporting medical staff, supplies and equipment to West Africa. ,,, "But doctors representing the Kenya Medical Association had asked Kenya Airways to suspend flights to the four countries affected by Ebola 'until things stabilize.'" -  The Associated Press.

via The NPR