TCU bans two Universities in Tanzania from rnrolling students

Dar es Salaam — The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) has banned two universities from admitting new students in the 2016/17 academic year for violation of regulations.

The affected institutes are St Joseph University of Science and Technology and International Medical and Technological University (IMTU).

The TCU Assistant Director of Admission and Documentation, Dr Kokuberwa Mollel, said IMTU had been barred from admitting new students because it had no permanent buildings.

"The law requires higher learning institutions to have a good and conducive environment for students. They are required to have permanent buildings and facilities such as laboratories in addition to having qualified lecturers," she said when briefing the media on the 11th Higher Learning Institutions Exhibition scheduled for August 20-22 in Dar es Salaam.

IMTU is locked in a legal battle with National Development Corporation (NDC) over the rent the university is supposed to pay for the property in Mbezi Beach, Dar es Salaam, where the institute is based.

In 1996 IMTU leased the property formerly owned by the Tanzania Saruji Corporation for 15 years for a monthly rent of Sh100 (shillings one hundred).

Upon expiry of the MOU in August 2011, the contract was extended for another 25 years based on the 1996 terms. The property was transferred to NDC in 2007 by the Presidential Parastatal Sector Reform Commission.

The new landlord reviewed the contract and notified the tenant of its decision to increase the rent to Sh78 million per month, which the university has not paid, prompting a legal tussle between the two. The case is still pending at the High Court, Land Division.

Earlier this year, TCU blacklisted some St Joseph University of Science and Technology campuses for failing to meet required standards.

Dr Mollel said there would be no new enrolment at the two universities until TCU was satisfied that all shortcomings were fully addressed.

She added, however, that students who had already been enrolled would continue with their studies.

TCU has also barred some higher learning institutions from offering certain courses because they do not meet the required standards. Dr Mollel did not name the universities or the courses in question.

"Every year we conduct an evaluation of universities, scrutinise their systems and programmes offered so that we can be in a good position to ensure the quality of courses offered," she said.

Speaking about the exhibition, Dr Mollel said the Minister for Education, Science, Technology and Vocational Training, Prof Joyce Ndalichako, would be the chief guest.

The event would be attended by 50 universities, including 22 from outside the country. Dr Mollel said the exhibition was aimed at providing an opportunity to universities to publicise themselves and programmes they offered.