UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2017 open for applications and nominations

UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for its two prestigious International Literacy Prizes for the 2017 edition.

This year’s theme is ‘literacy in a digital world’, which will also set the focus for International Literacy Day, celebrated on 8 September.

470 projects and programmes in the field of literacy have already been recognized and rewarded since 1967 for their excellence and innovation, undertaken by Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world.

Through the Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

Two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are given to five laureates every year.

The first Prize is the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea, which awards two candidates with special attention to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

The second Prize is the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy. It is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China and awards three candidates, giving special consideration to literacy projects for adults, learners in rural areas, and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma, and US$20.000 for their project or programme. The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are awarded at an official ceremony at UNESCO’s Headquarters in Paris on the International Literacy Day.

How to apply and nominate

Candidates should take into account this year’s theme - literacy in a digital world - and also consider the special focus of each Prize.

Applications should be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO through appropriate governments of Member States and non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO.

Each government or non-governmental organization can nominate up to three applications for the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, and up to two applications for the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize.

  • 31 May 2017 for applications
  • 14 June 2017 for nominations
More information: Find the full application and nomination guidelines and other relevant information on the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes web page.

Source: http://www.unesco.org...